Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“Give me mercy any minute now…”

You know you’ve spent far too much time in English when you’re interpreting your dreams…in your dreams. The way you were taught in your classes. Actually, if you’re dreaming in The Great Gatsby symbolism for any reason, summer need to get here quicker.

I dreamed in Gatsby’s death symbolism. The sacrificed one, sacrificed for reasons unknown to him; the pool of water, and my own cross to bear. The sacrificed one shouldn’t have had to disappear for me, so it’s a good thing I don’t usually behave in accordance to my dream; it was a symbol of first love and stepping into a Tam Lin ballad. The pool of water, a memory. The English textbook weighing me down to the point of being unable to move, a conflict in interests. Science versus English, quite different tastes. The forbidden attraction, forbidden in society, forbidden in age, just forbidden completely. My cross to bear.

I awoke in a cold sweat and swearing like a sailor; I’ve been in a fog of long-forgotten memories since.Image

